School Council

Here at Eccleston Mere Primary School we have 2 children from each junior class who represent their class in School Council Meetings. They also feed back what has been discussed to their peers during class reflection time. During this time, they also collect new proposals.  

How does our School Council work?

The school council is chaired by the Chairperson and the Secretary takes the minutes, they work together to type up the minutes and deliver them to each class. There are 2 adults who help and guide the council; they are Mrs D Riley and Mrs A Noblett.

How are councillors elected?

At the start of each academic year, those children who are interested in being on the School Council are asked to give a speech to their class and/or the School Council outlining why they would be a good School Councillor. They then have a short question and answer session, where councillors can ask them various questions.

Special Guests

We do, from time to time have guest councillors if a child comes forward with an interesting proposal. We also meet with the Junior Road Safety officers to share ideas and help school. We invite Year 2 children in the Summer Term so that they know what to expect in Key Stage 2 if they wish to join the council. We have also invited professionals to come and chat to us. We have invited members of staff to join us and had a question & answer session with the Head Teacher.

Some of the changes that school council have put in place are:

  • More extra-curricular clubs
  • More sports competitions
  • Assembly songs to be more upbeat
  • Year 6 prefects to help throughout school
  • Corridor monitors
  • Packed lunch children to sit with hot dinner children
  • Playground equipment for all classes
  • School discos
  • Cake sales
  • Charity collections and donations
  • Foodbank collections and delivery of supplies to the Foodbank Centre

Contact Us

Eccleston Mere Primary School

Saleswood Avenue, Eccleston,
St Helens, Merseyside WA10 5NX
Tel: 01744 734829


Mr Ryan Mugan (Head Teacher)
Mrs Amanda Noblett (SENCO)
General Enquiries - Mrs Barrow (Office Manager)

CEOP Stop Terrorism Icon